It’s about our freedom; It’s about our people; It’s about time!

My name is Kenny Bowyer, and I used to be a writer for the Pryor Daily Times in Pryor, Oklahoma.  On Veterans Day of 2002, I wrote a story about Veterans getting Veterans Day off with pay.   The story went through the roof.  Everyone was very supportive, so it gave me an idea .  Why can’t this dream, be a reality?  So, I began the long, pain staking chore of  emailing every one of our state senators in Oklahoma City.   Out of 77 emails that were sent, ONLY ONE responded…Senator Sam Helton of  District 31.   Mr. Helton was a big help for me, because he sent me the addresses of Senators Jim Inhofe and Don Nickles.

In the mean time, I had been in correspondence with Cindy Morrison, a former anchor at KTUL-Channel 8 in Tulsa.  Mrs. Morrison helped more than I imagined.  I had emailed my story to four of the local news channels in Tulsa, as well as The Tulsa World.  KJRH Channel 2 said there was “nothing they could do”, while KOTV Channel 6, KOKI Channel 23  and The Tulsa World never did respond to my emails.  Mrs. Morrison sent me numerous emails, ranging from starting a petition, to an extensive search on the net.

Out of the two senators, only one got back with me.  Senator Nickles’ assistant called me, and said that the story “touched” Mr. Nickles, and that he was going to sponsor a bill in February to make this idea come true.   Finally, Veterans would be getting what they have long deserved, RECOGNITION.

However, February come and went…and nothing had been done about Veterans having THEIR day off.  I emailed Senator Nickles’ office numerous times, and nobody has ever replied back to me.  Veterans need this bill to be sponsored.  They deserve it.  Help me spread the word.  Tell your friends and family about this site.

Now, years have gone by.  The most that has happened was that (then) Oklahoma Gov. Brad Henry’s office wrote me a letter, telling me how much the governer liked the idea I was proposing.  With the help of Rep. Ben Sherrer, the measure began to gain some steam, and eventually became a House Bill (HB1466 – The Vicki Bowyer Veterans Appreciation Act)

However, the momentum soon faded, and now more years have passed.  A new group of goverment officials are in office…but I think the time is right to begin to poke this fire a little more, and to see what kind of wildfire we can cause with this.

It’s about our freedom; It’s about our people; It’s about time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s about our freedom; It’s about our people; It’s about time!

  1. John Shanahan says:

    As a soldier in the US Army still currently serving it touches my heart that there are some people out there still willing to fight for veterans like we fight to protect the people of the United states. I have 5 Deployments (countless engagements and IEDs) under my belt and have served for 10 years(will make this a career) and this is by far the most I have seen a single person try to do for Americas troops. He believes in something that is great and with minimal support trying to make this happen. It is sad to see that a lot of our political figures apparently don’t care as much as what they say they do. This goes far beyond what I have done, what about the sacrifices troops have made for this nation. Nov 2nd a day that I will always remember because I had 2 very close friends and 14 other buddies die in combat. I believe I can’t get enough days to appreciate them if I counted every day of the year as a day of remembrance. This will help make it feel like they are more appreciated. I can go on and on about this but I don’t want to sound long winded. I do appreciate all the people that support veterans and me. It is the people and the support that makes my job easier. This article and what Kenny is doing makes me feel appreciated and that my life is worth something to the people.

  2. Tanya Bacon says:

    I am grateful that someone feels so strongly about this that they will go to great lengths to see it come to pass. I believe you are doing a great thing for our Veterans Kenny! I pray that this will happen and give our Veterans the honor they deserve.

Leave a Reply

